Mejiro: The Japanese White Eye

For the past 5 years living in Okinawa, I have been really intrigued to shoot this small olive-green bird when the pink Sakura begin to bloom in January-February. I have not managed to get the best photos of them, mainly because I did not have the right photography equipments to do so… and I often became too lazy to shoot them because they just too agile.

It was not until today (Feb. 21st, 2016) when I went with my wife to Yaese Park in southern Okinawa to see our (probably) last Sakura in Japan. I brought my Fujifilm X-Pro1 and an adapted Nikkor 200mm F4 Ais lens with me. I own this lens for a couple of months now, bought cheap from a local camera shop, about $40, if I remember correctly. This is an old lenses from the 1970s, CMIIW. It`s fully manual focus and work completely manual in my X-Pro1.

My first impression of this lens: it`s a “so-so”, not as sharp as my other prime lenses. So, it stays in my dry box most of the time. But, I was really surprised that it indeed performed really great today in capturing this little fella. I guess, I did not use it with its full potential the last time I attached it on my camera. Well, looks like I`ll use this lens more often in the future for telephotos.

About this bird, as copied from Wikipedia about this bird:

“The Japanese white-eye (Zosterops japonicus), also known as the mejiro (メジロ, 目白), is a small passerine bird in the white-eye family. Its native range includes much of east Asia, including Japan, Korea, China, Vietnam, Taiwan, and the Philippines. It has been intentionally introduced to other parts of the world as a pet and as pest control, with mixed results. As one of the native species of the Japanese islands, it has been depicted in Japanese art on numerous occasions, and historically was kept as a cage bird.”

 

6 thoughts on “Mejiro: The Japanese White Eye

  1. Kawaiiii…. those birds look so beautiful combine with the colour of sakura flower. I hope in the future I can attend japan and see those birds directly with my eyes…. aaamiiin

Leave a Reply

